A list of all the major programmes which are/were administered by the Higher Education Authority.



  • Erasmus+ (2014-2020), also called Erasmus Plus, is the EU's new 14.7 billion euro program for education, training, youth and sport. The programme combines all the EU's previous schemes for education, training, youth and sport, including the Lifelong Learning Programme (Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius, Grundtvig), Youth in Action and five other international co-operation programmes (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink and the programme for co-operation with industrialised countries). In Ireland, the HEA handles the Higher Education sectors of the programme in Ireland while Léargas handles the VET, school education, adult education and youth sectors.


The Lifelong Learning Programme

  • The predecesor to Erasmus+, the Lifelong Learning Programme 2007–2013 was established by Decision on 15 November 2006 as the European Union programme for education and training. The Programme almalgamated previous action programmes (in particular, ithe Socrates programme and the Leonardo da Vinci programme) and had six sub-programmes: the Comenius programme, the Erasmus programme, the Leonardo da Vinci programme, the Grundtvig programme, the Transversal programme and the Jean Monnet Programme.

Bologna Process

  • Set up in 1999, the Bologna Process is a series of ministerial meetings and agreements between European countries designed to ensure comparability in the standards and quality of higher education qualifications.


Related Inernational Co-Operation

  • A list of all the international programmes, scholarships and partnerships administered by the HEA which fall outside the Erasmus+ label.